Let It All Go

Published September 6, 2014 by eternalros3

I wanted to write you guys a new poem out of the many unfinished ones I have set aside. Unfortunately, when I have an itch this strong to write, my brain overflows with ideas that run into each other so much, none if it makes any sense. It’s like dipping into alphabet soup, for serious.
I get a lot of inspiration from various media, and oftentimes don’t know the meaning behind my own work because it just sounds good to me, and doesn’t necessarily stem from any particular emotion or event. However, you know you need to put down the pen and walk away when you start yammering on about iron men swimming in fish bowls year after pendulous fall because over the yellow brick road we are all just human animals…
Oh wait, Here I Go Again.

Alright, enough with the music references. On to poems! I wrote this one a few months ago, inspired in equal parts by Egyptian {a band consisting of husband and wife Dan Reynolds and Aja Volkman}, and a vast emptiness that comes with believing lies too good to be true, or allowing yourself to be led around blindly.

Let It All Go
At the end of the rainbow we know
Clouds full of fools gold
The little brick well is dry and cold
How could we know?
I am lost, with no roads to follow
Lead me down to the river in the hollow
To waste away.
And if you can find a way back to life
I won’t lead you astray,
I won’t let you fade.
But if I could lie,
I’d leave it all behind
And travel down a road less followed.
At the end of time’s hourglass
Hope is melting fast
These sands are diamonds to be mined,
At the end of time.
How could we know?
How could we let it go?
Desperate, I fear to feel;
If I ignore the pain it isn’t real
But in my field of dreams
Nothing is as it seems
And at the end of the rainbow
Mountains all covered in snow
I’m here to mend your holes
And save your hope
So with this breath, I’ll let it all go.

Leave a comment