Fallen Angel

Published March 23, 2016 by eternalros3

I’ve been racking my brain for a story to tell.
I needed to come up with a scene and try to actually carry it through each verse. I needed to get the picture out of my head and on paper, and show you why. I’ve always been enthralled with concept albums and songs, so I finally decided to give it a try.

It was a random idea and I’m slightly satisfied with it, but it’s not complete. I told you something, but not the story I wanted to.
Where / why / who / how / when?
Sorry, couldn’t tell ya.
All I know is an image randomly popped into my head and suddenly words just flowed. I almost finished the poem in one night, but forced myself to think it over and tweak some parts. Sometimes I feel like I pick random ass words just to annoy myself coming up with rhymes.
(On that note…I’m still waiting on my brain to come up with a poem where I don’t give a rat’s ass about what rhymes and what doesn’t.)

So I got to thinking about fallen angels (blame the fantasy Facebook puzzles I’ve been addicted to recently), with a “Joan-of-Arc” type twist.

At least, that was my goal here. Like I said; I don’t feel I’ve told you all I wanted to. There could be more, at least in the way of better imagery.

Fallen Angel
I awaken in the shadow of oblivion
I can no longer feel the sun
As I lay here and reflect upon my life
I can no longer see room for your light

Drifting across your waters
I feel my breath begin to falter
All your lies closing in
As your violent aftermath begins

And now I’m a fallen angel at your door
But heaven’s gates open for me no more
An angel without wings just can’t fly
So leave me here to die

With all the glory that you’ve proffered
You lead the lambs to the slaughter
And you wonder how I lost faith in my path
These clouds don’t help they just hold me back
And I fall

When you cut my wings you cut me to my core
And left me wanting more
How can you justify such a sacrifice
When we all have to pay the price?

And now I’m a fallen angel at your door
But heaven’s gates open for me no more
An angel without wings just can’t fly
So leave me here to die

I may be bleeding and seething with anger
But I alone was aware of the danger
And your damnation hurt me deeply
But now I’m absolved of your lies completely
And I fall

An angel without wings just can’t fly
So leave me here to die
And I’ll lead them to your door
– A fallen angel no more
To condemn you of your treason
– For justice is my season


And I shall leave you with this;

faeland

It has nothing to do with angels, but close enough.
It’s also shitty artwork but it’s mine, so ha.

Leave a comment