Let You Go…

Published March 5, 2016 by eternalros3

So…
I have no idea what this is. I literally can’t even.

Gotta love my muse though…mounting piles of ideas and nothing to do with them, trying all kinds of exercises to attune to my creative side, even trying to go back to my music video ideas and countless stories…and this is what I come up with.

What I thought was going to be different from my usual themes did a 360 on me and barreled down the path of my usual thought process.
I’m not exactly sure it was portrayed in the right way though. I mean…I’m never sure, but this one takes me a little farther from my comfort zone than usual.

I’ve been caught up in the tale of Beauty and the Beast recently, and can only assume that is what I was – somewhat – trying to achieve here.
I was tempted to make this one longer than usual, but it was hard enough concentrating on the closing piece.

Let You Go
Tick tock
Says the clock
As the night progresses
As I watch all the pretty girls in their dresses

And I’m sitting alone
Upon my throne
Of self-righteousness
And damn babe you know I really can’t fight this

Oh no
It’s almost midnight and I’m solo
But time can’t tell
If I’m really part of this spell
Or if it’s all just pretense and part of the show

And I’m dizzy out of control
It must be the way the music flows
It can’t be what’s in my drink
‘Cause I can still clearly think
– At least I think so

Stop cold
On a set of eyes so bold
You came out of the darkness
And you know babe don’t really think I can start this

I can’t forget you though
I cannot let this go
But when you play with fire
You can’t expect to be taken higher

Let the burn
Take its turn
Let the heat fill the air
Can’t you feel it babe? I won’t play fair

Dig in your claws
Show me your flaws
But Mister Perfect
Is nothing but a criminal in retrospect

And when I left you lying there
Caught in your vertigo snare
The secondhand struck the right time
And I knew then that you were mine

I got your blood deep in my soul
I cannot let you…
Go

 

 

Leave a comment